last verified 3 August 2026
Magistry vs Triple Whale
Pick Triple Whale if you need best-in-class attribution reporting, incrementality testing and a BI layer. Pick Magistry if you want the profit number to change your store: Magistry executes catalog, feed, ad, customer-service and dispute work, logged and reversible. Triple Whale starts at $219/month and scales on GMV; Magistry at $99/month on a plan fee plus AI-credits.
Magistry is an autonomous operations platform for Shopify stores. Triple Whale is an ecommerce attribution and analytics platform. Every Triple Whale figure on this page is quoted from their own public pages, with the source and the date we read it in the table below. Where they do not publish something, the cell says so instead of guessing.
Magistry and Triple Whale compared, dimension by dimension
Each row is one feature, with the source it was verified against and the date. Rows where Triple Whale does not offer something are marked as not offered, not scored as a failure — the two products overlap on measurement and diverge everywhere else.
swipe to read the full table →
| Dimension | Magistry | Triple Whale | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| What the tool does with the number it produces | Executes. The measured profit per order feeds bidding, catalog state changes, feed rules and budget moves; every write is logged with its evidence and paired with a rollback. | Reports, and increasingly acts: the pricing page lists "Ad Platform Controls (Budget, Status, & more)" and describes Moby pausing underperformers and scaling winners within thresholds you set. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Entry price for a paid plan | $99/month (Starter), including 1,000 AI-credits. | $219/month (Foundation). Automate is $749/month; Enterprise is quoted. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| What the bill scales on | A plan fee plus a monthly allowance of AI-credits: $0 / $99 / $249 / $499. GMV bands guide which plan fits, but the charged variable is credits — the work the agents do — not revenue. | Annual GMV over the trailing 12 months, combined with the package chosen. The page's slider returns a higher monthly figure per GMV tier. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Contract length | Month to month. No trial to expire — the Launch plan is perpetual. | Listed prices assume a 12-month commitment; the FAQ states month-to-month pricing is also offered, without stating that price. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Attribution models available | Last-click, linear, position-based and time-decay multi-touch, computed over a first-party identity graph from server-side events. | Multi-touch attribution across paid, owned, subscription and organic, on their own pixel and identity resolution. Free tier is first/last-click with a 12-month lookback; unlimited lookback is a paid feature. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Marketing-mix modelling | Included on every paid plan: geometric adstock plus Hill saturation, with an optional Bayesian fit. Outputs marginal ROAS and a recommended daily spend that feeds budget decisions. | Listed under Enterprise ("MMM, incrementality"), and as the Compass add-on, priced on request. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Incrementality / geo holdout testing | Not available. Magistry models saturation and marginal return, but runs no holdout experiments. | Available on Enterprise and via Compass. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Profit as the optimisation target | POAS is computed per order from product cost, shipping, fees and refunds, and is the value sent back to the ad platforms — so bidding optimises on margin, not revenue. | Not stated on the pricing page as a bidding input; profit and cost analytics are part of the reporting surface. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Shopping-feed management | Built in: feed build, versioning, A/B testing and syndication to Google, Meta, TikTok, Pinterest and Bing, with Merchant Center diagnostics fed back into catalog decisions. | Not publicly stated — not offered as a product surface | Verified in product |
| Customer service | Built in: inbound mail classification, brand-voice replies, and refunds, replacements and cancellations executed end to end against Shopify. | Not publicly stated — not offered as a product surface | Verified in product |
| Chargeback defense | Built in: evidence assembly and submission. No success fee — it is inside the plan price. | Not publicly stated — not offered as a product surface | Verified in product |
| Integration catalogue | 16 integrations listed publicly, concentrated on Shopify, the ad platforms, Merchant Center, GA4 and mailboxes. | "60+ one-click connections to your tech stack". | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| SQL access and data-warehouse export | Not available. Data leaves through the REST API and the MCP server, not a warehouse sync. | Data-warehouse sync and flexible warehouse access are listed as Enterprise capabilities. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Security certification | Not SOC 2 certified. Built to the same controls — least privilege, encryption, audit logging — and stated as such on the Trust page. | "SOC 2 Type 2" listed under Enterprise security and controls. | Triple Whale pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Undo on an action taken by the tool | Every write is stored with its rollback operation at write time; the decision log restores a row in one click. | Not publicly stated — rollback behaviour not described on the pricing page | Verified in product |
Where Triple Whale is better than Magistry
Every comparison page on this site names at least one point where the other product wins. Here are 5.
Incrementality testing — Triple Whale has it, Magistry does not
Triple Whale lists incrementality and MMM under Enterprise and Compass. Magistry models saturation and marginal ROAS, which answers "where does the next euro stop working", but it never runs a holdout. If your spend is large enough that a wrong causal read costs more than the software, that gap is the whole decision, and Triple Whale is the better tool.
The free plan is far more generous for a store that only wants numbers
Triple Whale's free tier is $0/month with 10 users, a 12-month lookback and blended analytics, with no stated size ceiling. Magistry's Launch plan carries 50 AI-credits and is guided at stores under $10,000 monthly GMV. A $5M store that wants a dashboard and nothing else can run on Triple Whale free forever and cannot do the equivalent on Magistry at all.
Breadth of integrations and BI depth
"60+ one-click connections", a data-warehouse sync and warehouse-flexible Enterprise access, against 16 published Magistry integrations and no SQL or warehouse export. If your analyst lives in the warehouse, Magistry will feel closed.
SOC 2 Type 2, which Magistry does not have
Triple Whale lists SOC 2 Type 2 for Enterprise. Magistry is not certified and says so on its own Trust page. For a procurement process with a hard certification gate, that ends the conversation in Triple Whale's favour today.
Track record at scale
Triple Whale has been measuring ecommerce spend for years across a large installed base. Magistry's Shopify listing went live on 9 June 2026. Judgement about which tool has seen more edge cases should follow the evidence, and on that dimension the evidence favours Triple Whale.
Choose Triple Whale if…
- Attribution is the job, and reporting is where it ends
- If a team of analysts and media buyers reads the numbers and makes the calls themselves, a measurement platform is the right shape of tool. Triple Whale is built for exactly that, and Magistry's execution layer would be paying for capability you would switch off.
- You need causal evidence, not correlational modelling
- Incrementality testing and MMM under one roof, run against your own spend, is Triple Whale Enterprise territory. Magistry has MMM but no holdout experiments, so it cannot settle a causality argument.
- Your data team wants the warehouse
- SQL access, custom dashboards and a data-warehouse sync are productised on Triple Whale's higher tiers. Magistry exposes its data through an API and an MCP server, which suits an AI workflow and not an analyst's query editor.
- You want free analytics without an order ceiling
- Triple Whale's free plan carries 10 users and a 12-month lookback with no stated GMV floor. Magistry's Launch plan is propose-only with 50 AI-credits and is scoped at stores under $10,000 monthly GMV, so a larger store cannot sit on it.
Choose Magistry if…
- You want the measurement to change the store, not just describe it
- Magistry's POAS figure is not a chart. It is the value sent back to Google and Meta as the conversion value, the input to catalog state changes, and the gate on feed rules. The loop from measurement to action closes inside one system, with the decision log as the record.
- The stack you are consolidating is wider than attribution
- If you also pay for feed management, a helpdesk, a chargeback tool and a profit dashboard, the comparison stops being like-for-like. Magistry covers those as first-class modules on the same plan price; Triple Whale does not offer them.
- Your bill should track orders, not revenue
- Triple Whale prices continuously on trailing 12-month GMV, so a strong year raises the software bill by itself. Magistry charges a fixed plan fee within a band, $0 to $499, and meters the variable part on AI-credits — the work the agents actually do. Growing inside your band costs nothing extra; growing past it moves you one step, once.
- You want every automated action to be reversible
- Every Magistry write is stored with its rollback operation at the moment it is made, so undoing a batch is one click rather than a support ticket. Agents default to approval-only with a 24-hour dry run, and a per-store kill switch stops every write and spend job while it is on.
Running Magistry and Triple Whale side by side, or moving between them
Running both is a reasonable answer, and common
Nothing conflicts. Triple Whale keeps its own pixel and identity graph; Magistry runs server-side events and its own attribution. Two measurement systems will disagree at the margin — they use different identity resolution and different windows — so pick one as the number of record before you start, or you will spend the first month arbitrating.
The usual migration order
Most stores do not switch measurement first. They add Magistry for the work Triple Whale does not do — feed, customer service, disputes — keep Triple Whale as the reporting layer, and compare the two attribution reads for a full purchase cycle. If the numbers agree within tolerance, the second subscription has become optional. If they disagree, you have learned something worth more than the saving.
What to check before you cancel anything
Export the historical lookback you care about. Triple Whale's free tier keeps a 12-month lookback and paid tiers extend it; Magistry starts its history on the day it connects, and backfills what the platform APIs still hold. Losing two years of trend data to save a subscription is a bad trade.
Questions about Magistry and Triple Whale
Is Magistry a Triple Whale alternative?
Only partly, and pretending otherwise would be misleading. Magistry replaces the reporting and attribution job — server-side tracking, multi-touch attribution, POAS, marketing-mix modelling — and adds feed, ads, customer-service and dispute execution that Triple Whale does not offer. It does not replace Triple Whale's incrementality testing, its warehouse access, or its integration breadth.
How much does Triple Whale cost?
As published on triplewhale.com/pricing on 3 August 2026: a Free plan at $0/month, Foundation from $219/month, Automate from $749/month, and Enterprise on quotation. All paid pricing is a combination of the plan and the store's annual GMV over the trailing 12 months, and the listed prices assume a 12-month commitment; the page states month-to-month is also available without publishing that price. Retention and Conversion are add-ons at $19 and $79 per month.
How much does Magistry cost?
Launch is $0/month with 50 AI-credits, Starter $99/month with 1,000, Growth $249/month with 2,600 and Scale $499/month with 5,200. Every paid tier unlocks the entire platform — the tiers differ on included credits, never on gated features — and credits beyond the allowance are $0.12 each, capped at three times the plan price. There is no trial; the Launch plan is perpetual and propose-only.
Which one measures attribution more accurately?
Nobody can answer that from the outside, including us. Both run first-party identity resolution over their own event stream, and accuracy depends on your traffic mix, consent rates and purchase cycle. The honest test is to run both for one full purchase cycle and compare against your payment-processor settlement data, which is the only ground truth either system can be checked against.
Does Magistry do marketing-mix modelling?
Yes, on every paid plan. Magistry fits a geometric-adstock plus Hill-saturation response curve per channel, with an optional Bayesian fit, and returns the saturation half-point, marginal ROAS at current spend and a break-even recommended daily spend. It does not run incrementality or geo-holdout experiments, which Triple Whale offers on Enterprise.
Can I run Magistry and Triple Whale at the same time?
Yes. They do not conflict — separate pixels, separate identity graphs, separate attribution. Decide up front which one is the number of record, because two attribution systems will disagree at the margin and reconciling them after the fact wastes more time than the decision is worth.
Does switching to Magistry mean losing historical data?
Partly. Magistry starts its own event history when it connects and backfills what the Shopify, Google and Meta APIs still return, which is bounded by each platform's own retention. Attribution history computed inside Triple Whale does not transfer. Export what matters before cancelling.
How this comparison was made
Every Triple Whale figure was read off the public pages listed below on the retrieval date shown, and is quoted rather than summarised. Nothing about Triple Whale on this page comes from a third-party review, a sales conversation or an estimate. If a value is not published, the table says so.
Magistry’s own figures are taken from the product’s billing configuration and the modules named in each row, not from our marketing copy. Prices are the same numbers the application charges.
This page is comparative advertising under Dutch and EU law (art. 6:194a BW, implementing Directive 2006/114/EC). It compares products serving the same need on material, relevant, verifiable and representative features including price, names at least one point where Triple Whale is better, and does not denigrate Triple Whale or its marks. Found something wrong? Mail hello@magistry.io and we will correct it — including if you work at Triple Whale.
Vendor pricing changes. A verification job re-fetches every source below and reports when a quoted value disappears from the page, so a stale claim surfaces as a task rather than sitting here. Lastfull verification: 3 August 2026.
sources
- Triple Whale pricing page — https://www.triplewhale.com/pricing, retrieved 3 August 2026
- Magistry pricing — https://www.magistry.io/pricing, retrieved 3 August 2026
More on the Magistry side of this comparison: Tracking & Attribution · Pricing · All comparisons
