last verified 3 August 2026
Magistry vs Gorgias
Pick Gorgias if customer service is the job and you need voice, SMS, WhatsApp and a mature agent workflow. Pick Magistry if support is one of several operations you want handled and you would rather not pay per resolution. Gorgias starts at $40/month plus per-ticket and per-resolution overages; Magistry at $99/month, every module included.
Magistry is an autonomous operations platform for Shopify stores. Gorgias is an ecommerce helpdesk with an AI support agent. Every Gorgias figure on this page is quoted from their own public pages, with the source and the date we read it in the table below. Where they do not publish something, the cell says so instead of guessing.
Magistry and Gorgias compared, dimension by dimension
Each row is one feature, with the source it was verified against and the date. Rows where Gorgias does not offer something are marked as not offered, not scored as a failure — the two products overlap on measurement and diverge everywhere else.
swipe to read the full table →
| Dimension | Magistry | Gorgias | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| What the product is | An autonomous operations platform for Shopify stores. Customer service is one module beside catalog, ads, feeds, tracking, disputes and reputation, on the same plan price. | A dedicated ecommerce helpdesk with an AI agent — one inbox across channels, billed as "Helpdesk + AI Agent. One platform. One inbox. One bill." | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Entry price for a paid plan | $99/month (Starter), including 1,000 AI-credits. | $40/month (Starter, monthly billing only): Helpdesk $10/mo plus AI Agent $30/mo, including 50 tickets and 30 automated interactions. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| What the bill scales on | A plan fee plus a monthly allowance of AI-credits: $0 / $99 / $249 / $499. One meter, shared across every module. A full CS thread typically consumes around 3 credits, though credits are priced from live model cost rather than fixed per action. | Two meters at once: included tickets per month, and included automated interactions. Past the limit, $0.40 per ticket ($0.36 on Pro and Advanced) and $1.50 per automated interaction. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Cost at roughly 2,000 tickets a month | $249/month (Growth) includes 2,600 AI-credits. At roughly 3 credits for a full CS thread that is on the order of 850 resolutions, shared with every other module. | Pro, listed at $550/month or $471/month billed annually ($5,652/year), including 2,000 tickets and 190 automated interactions. Resolutions past 190 add $1.50 each. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Seat pricing | Not charged per seat. Team members are included on the plan. | Not charged per seat either — "never priced per agent". | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Support channels | Email (Gmail, Outlook/Graph and generic IMAP/SMTP) and an on-site chat widget. No voice, no SMS, no WhatsApp. | Email and chat, plus Voice and SMS as paid add-ons on any plan and WhatsApp in the channel matrix. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Acting on the store, not just replying | Refunds, replacements, cancellations, address changes and discount codes are executed against Shopify end to end, each write paired with its rollback. | Actions on the Shopify order are part of the helpdesk; Enterprise adds "New Actions, deeper integrations, and custom automations". | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| How replies are grounded in your brand voice | Sampled from your last 200 sent replies, with a judge floor before anything is sent. Order, margin and refund history are in context because the same system holds them. | Not publicly stated — method not described on the pricing page | Verified in product |
| Everything outside customer service | Catalog and pricing, Google/Meta/TikTok ads, shopping feeds, server-side tracking and POAS, chargeback defense, storefront compliance, reputation and market intelligence — all on the same plan. | Not publicly stated — out of scope for a helpdesk | Verified in product |
| Integration library | 16 integrations published, concentrated on Shopify, the ad platforms, Merchant Center, GA4 and mailboxes. | "254 apps" in the integration library, plus HTTP / custom integrations. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Trying it before paying | No trial. The Launch plan is perpetual and propose-only, with 50 AI-credits a month. | "Start free trial", "No credit card required" on the Basic, Pro and Advanced plans. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Public track record on the Shopify App Store | 5.0 from 4 reviews. The listing went live on 9 June 2026. | 4.2 from 615 reviews. | Gorgias on the Shopify App Storeretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Enterprise procurement support | Not SOC 2 certified; custom policy schemas and audit export are offered on Enterprise. No published DPA negotiation or security-review service. | Enterprise includes "Custom DPA or MSA, plus security review support", a dedicated CSM and a solutions architect, for teams over 5,000 conversations a month. | Gorgias pricing pageretrieved 3 August 2026 |
| Undo on an action the AI took | Every write stores its rollback operation at write time; the decision log restores it in one click. Agents default to approval-only with a 24-hour dry run. | Not publicly stated — rollback behaviour not described on the pricing page | Verified in product |
Where Gorgias is better than Magistry
Every comparison page on this site names at least one point where the other product wins. Here are 6.
Voice, SMS and WhatsApp — Magistry has none of them
Gorgias sells Voice and SMS as add-ons on any plan and lists WhatsApp in its channel matrix. Magistry does email and an on-site chat widget, full stop. If a meaningful share of your contacts arrive by phone or WhatsApp, Magistry cannot serve them and Gorgias can.
254 integrations against 16
Gorgias publishes an integration library of 254 apps plus HTTP and custom integrations. Magistry publishes 16, deliberately concentrated on Shopify, the ad platforms and mailboxes. If your support workflow touches a loyalty app, a subscription app and a 3PL, Gorgias probably already connects to all three.
A real free trial, without a card
Gorgias offers a free trial with no credit card on Basic, Pro and Advanced. Magistry has no trial: its Launch plan is perpetual but propose-only and carries 50 AI-credits a month, so a busy store cannot properly evaluate the paid behaviour without paying first.
Track record — 615 reviews against 4
Gorgias holds 4.2 from 615 reviews on the Shopify App Store; Magistry holds 5.0 from 4, on a listing that went live on 9 June 2026. A 5.0 from four reviews is not evidence of anything yet, and anyone comparing the two should read it that way.
Procurement and compliance support Magistry cannot match today
Gorgias Enterprise includes a custom DPA or MSA, security-review support, a dedicated CSM and a solutions architect. Magistry is not SOC 2 certified and says so on its own Trust page. For a buyer whose security team gates the purchase, that difference decides it.
It is a purpose-built helpdesk, and that shows in daily use
Gorgias has spent years on the parts of a helpdesk that only matter once you have several agents: views, macros, assignment, SLA handling, reporting per agent. Magistry's inbox is built around an agent that resolves rather than a team that triages. A support team of six will feel the difference.
Choose Gorgias if…
- Customer service is the job, not one of several
- If you have a support team and support is the workflow you are buying software for, a dedicated helpdesk is the right shape of tool. Gorgias is built for that team, and Magistry's other eleven modules would be capability you are not using.
- Your customers phone, text or WhatsApp you
- Voice and SMS are add-ons on any Gorgias plan and WhatsApp is in the channel matrix. Magistry covers email and on-site chat only, so a phone-heavy support operation is simply out of scope for it.
- You need the integration to already exist
- 254 apps plus custom HTTP integrations means the loyalty, subscription and returns tools you already run are probably supported. Magistry's 16 integrations are deep rather than broad, and a gap is a roadmap conversation, not a toggle.
- Procurement has a certification gate
- Custom DPA or MSA, security-review support and a named CSM come with Gorgias Enterprise. Magistry is not SOC 2 certified today, and no amount of architecture explanation clears a hard gate.
Choose Magistry if…
- You do not want to pay per resolution
- Gorgias meters automated interactions separately from tickets and charges $1.50 for each one past the plan limit, which means the better the AI performs, the larger the bill. Magistry has one meter: a full CS thread draws roughly 3 credits from the same allowance every other module uses, and overage is $0.12 a credit. Resolution volume does not open a second, more expensive meter.
- The reply needs to know the margin, not just the order
- Magistry's CS agent answers from the same system that holds product cost, refund history, ad spend and catalog state. A refund decision can be tier-aware because the margin tier is in the same database, not behind an integration.
- You are consolidating, not adding
- If the helpdesk is one of eight subscriptions, the comparison is not helpdesk against helpdesk. Magistry covers feed, ads, tracking, disputes and reputation on the same plan price, and the support module is the one you were going to buy anyway.
- Every automated action must be reversible and logged
- Refunds, replacements and cancellations are written with their rollback operation attached, and the whole agent defaults to approval-only with a 24-hour dry run on first install. A per-store kill switch stops every write while it is on.
Running Magistry and Gorgias side by side, or moving between them
Running both is workable, with one rule
One inbox must own the mailbox. Two systems polling the same IMAP folder will double-reply, and no amount of configuration fixes that reliably. The usual split is Gorgias keeping the mailbox while Magistry runs everything outside support, using its own read-only view of orders and margins.
If you are moving off Gorgias
Export the macro library and the closed-ticket history first. Magistry grounds its replies on your last 200 sent messages, so a clean export makes the brand voice usable on day one instead of after a month of learning. Move channels one at a time — chat first, email second — and keep Gorgias live until the reply quality holds.
The number to watch during the overlap
Compare cost per resolved conversation, not plan price. On Gorgias that is the plan plus $1.50 per automated interaction past the limit; on Magistry it is 3 credits per resolution against the plan's included credits. Those two only converge at a specific volume, and it is worth knowing yours before deciding.
Questions about Magistry and Gorgias
Is Magistry a Gorgias alternative?
For email and on-site chat support on a Shopify store, yes. For voice, SMS or WhatsApp support, no — Magistry has none of those channels, and Gorgias sells all three. Magistry also lacks the multi-agent helpdesk workflow that a support team of several people relies on. Where Magistry goes further is outside support entirely: feeds, ads, tracking and chargebacks are on the same plan.
How much does Gorgias cost?
As published on gorgias.com/pricing on 3 August 2026: Starter $40/month (monthly billing only) with 50 tickets and 30 automated interactions; Basic $90/month or $77/month billed annually ($924/year) with 300 tickets; Pro $550/month or $471/month annually ($5,652/year) with 2,000 tickets and 190 automated interactions; Advanced $1,430/month or $1,227/month annually ($14,724/year) with 5,000 tickets and 530 automated interactions; Enterprise on quotation. Past the limits, tickets cost $0.40 each ($0.36 on Pro and Advanced) and automated interactions $1.50 each. Voice and SMS are separate add-ons.
How much does Magistry cost?
Launch is $0/month with 50 AI-credits, Starter $99/month with 1,000, Growth $249/month with 2,600 and Scale $499/month with 5,200. Every paid tier unlocks the whole platform, customer service included; a full CS thread typically consumes around 3 credits from that allowance, and credits beyond it are $0.12 each. There is no trial — the Launch plan is perpetual and propose-only.
Which is cheaper for a store handling 2,000 tickets a month?
It depends on how many of those tickets the AI resolves, which is why a headline comparison misleads. Gorgias Pro lists at $550/month monthly or $471/month billed annually and includes 2,000 tickets and 190 automated interactions, with $1.50 per automated interaction beyond that. Magistry Growth is $249/month and includes 2,600 AI-credits — on the order of 850 resolved threads at roughly 3 credits each, shared with every other module, with overage at $0.12 per credit. Run your own resolution rate through both meters before deciding.
Does Magistry support phone or WhatsApp support?
No. Magistry handles email through Gmail, Outlook and generic IMAP/SMTP, plus an on-site chat widget. There is no voice channel, no SMS and no WhatsApp. Gorgias sells Voice and SMS as add-ons on any plan and lists WhatsApp among its channels.
Can the Magistry CS agent issue refunds on its own?
Only once you allow it. The CS agent ships in approval-only mode with a 24-hour dry run, and refunds, replacements, cancellations and address changes are executed against Shopify with the rollback operation stored at write time. A per-store kill switch stops every write and spend job while it is on.
Can I keep Gorgias and still use Magistry?
Yes, provided only one system owns the mailbox. Two tools polling the same IMAP folder will send duplicate replies. The common arrangement is Gorgias keeping support while Magistry runs catalog, ads, feeds, tracking and disputes with a read-only view of the same orders.
How this comparison was made
Every Gorgias figure was read off the public pages listed below on the retrieval date shown, and is quoted rather than summarised. Nothing about Gorgias on this page comes from a third-party review, a sales conversation or an estimate. If a value is not published, the table says so.
Magistry’s own figures are taken from the product’s billing configuration and the modules named in each row, not from our marketing copy. Prices are the same numbers the application charges.
This page is comparative advertising under Dutch and EU law (art. 6:194a BW, implementing Directive 2006/114/EC). It compares products serving the same need on material, relevant, verifiable and representative features including price, names at least one point where Gorgias is better, and does not denigrate Gorgias or its marks. Found something wrong? Mail hello@magistry.io and we will correct it — including if you work at Gorgias.
Vendor pricing changes. A verification job re-fetches every source below and reports when a quoted value disappears from the page, so a stale claim surfaces as a task rather than sitting here. Lastfull verification: 3 August 2026.
sources
- Gorgias pricing page — https://www.gorgias.com/pricing, retrieved 3 August 2026
- Gorgias on the Shopify App Store — https://apps.shopify.com/helpdesk, retrieved 3 August 2026
- Magistry pricing — https://www.magistry.io/pricing, retrieved 3 August 2026
More on the Magistry side of this comparison: CS Specialist · Pricing · All comparisons
